Aurora Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Aurora Sequencer Software > Aurora 1.0
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Help SOS

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
LightsOnLogan View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3187
  Quote LightsOnLogan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2012 at 7:57am
During firmware related issues it is common for the HWUtil to show a different result than actual show software since the HWUtil does not use all of the commands that a real show will.

As LightChristmas mentioned, 1.16 and 1.20 are the best firmware versions to use with Aurora.  Which to use depends on your display.  These are the issues we noted with our customers:

With 1.16:
- Some channels will randomly "stick" during the show.  Aurora contains a workaround to automatically clear these, but it is still annoying.
- Channels with only LEDs attached may not turn off completely due to triac leakage with capacitive loads (the workaround is to attach a "hidden string" of incandescents onto the channel or to replace R1-R16 with 270 ohms instead of 180)

With 1.20:
- The triac LED leakage issues are resolved, but...
- Controllers occasionally lose their ID or even brick themselves (the workaround is to use ID 50+)
- It requires the EEPROM change described earlier for Aurora compatibility
- A small percentage of customers had trouble with it and went back to 1.16

As mentioned earlier, firmware related issues are better resolved at the D-Light forum.

For future years I would recommend planning the transition to the OpenDMX firmware for your controllers.  D-Light is encouraging adoption of DMX and this is the direction we are taking with future versions of Aurora as well.

Michael


Edited by LightsOnLogan - 19 Dec 2012 at 8:00am
Back to Top
morelights View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Mar 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
  Quote morelights Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2012 at 9:45pm
Thank you for all your help. It worked. I updated to 1.20 and did the EEPROM thing and everything is running smoothly. Im very fimilar with DMX on the professional side. I look at it if it works now for what I wanteded to do then don't mess with it.

Does Aurora support DMX also or would I have to look into getting a different program with a visualizer?
Back to Top
LightChristmas View Drop Down
Beta Testers
Beta Testers
Avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Location: Equality, IL
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 993
  Quote LightChristmas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2012 at 10:06pm
There is a DMX version of Aurora available, but I'd wait as we're working on an optimized and more user-friendly (thought I'd NEVER say that, but its true) version that will blow anything else out of the water.

Back to Top
LightsOnLogan View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3187
  Quote LightsOnLogan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2012 at 10:06pm
Aurora has partial dmx support at the moment. Full dmx will be happening in the upcoming year. Your existing sequences will convert to dmx when we release that version.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.06
Copyright ©2001-2007 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.055 seconds.