Hi

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
LightChristmas View Drop Down
Beta Testers
Beta Testers

Online Status: Offline
  Quote LightChristmas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hi
    Posted: 03 Sep 2008 at 7:47pm
Hi.

My name is Earl Flanigan (aka LightChristmas)

(group says boredly) "Hi Earl...."

And, well, I've been a light addict since October of 2006. Its not really my fault though! This guy...uhhh....we'll call him Darryl....well he kind of sells me all this stuff, you know?

(group gasps in shock)

Okay, the straight story.....

Wife sees the Carson Williams video on the 'net. Seeing as how I'm an engineer, she quips the predictable "Why don't you do that?".  Oy...

So, I study the video, analyze how to do it, get Dasher, a D/A board and a bunch of SSRs. Not thrilled with it - just doesn't have the pizazz. Discover D-Light. Cheaper than LOR, so go with 32 channels of ACx8 controllers. Everything worked well until it was time to get the scheduler going - crash, crash, play awhile, crash. GRRRRR.

Then out of the Southeast a lone figure appears in the barren wastes of Spectrum. Guy goes by the handle "LightsOnLogan", and he has a scheduler that actually works with Spectrum files! Welllll, I'm impressed!! Naturally, the show was saved using the LightsOnLogan Player! Yes, we all know and love him, its none other than our esteemed Admin of this forum, and creator of Aurora! Kept telling him to start charging for it, and to try and hook up with D-Light to solve the sequencer/scheduler problems. Prophetic words?