Aurora Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Aurora Sequencer Software > Aurora 1.0 > Installation Issues
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

UAC ???

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
ChrisL1976 View Drop Down
Beta Testers
Beta Testers

Online Status: Offline
  Quote ChrisL1976 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: UAC ???
    Posted: 30 Sep 2008 at 1:29pm
ok, I redid this post since I got the 64 bit machine to run both the sequencer and the scheduler.   My question is how important is it to have UAC turned ON?  If its ON, I cant get either, I get error messages for both programs . If I shut UAC off, both open clean.

I'm new to Vista, so should it be turned on? 

Edited by ChrisL1976 - 30 Sep 2008 at 8:38pm
Chris

www.lightsonsixth.com
bdkeen View Drop Down
Beta Testers
Beta Testers

Quote bdkeen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2008 at 7:43am

Seems that the general concensus is that UAC’s primary purpose is to stop users from doing dumb things. It's yet another level of automated OS protection.  Good for folks like my wife Shocked. But annoying as can be for many.

Turning it off means you just have to try and be in control - same as all previous versions of Windows OS.  Means using some common sense - not much different than we've had to do under XP or before.

May not be the best thing to do from the security standpont but I disabled it as soon as I installed Vista (and Windows 2008).

There's a ton of articles on the controversy of turning it off or leaving it on.

My personal choice was to disable and take my chances making my best guess based upon the many years working with this stuff. It was just too annoying and I didn't want to kick the new computer - not yet, It's got to run my xmas showWink
Pony_God View Drop Down