Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Creating Arches

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
rmonty View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote rmonty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Creating Arches
    Posted: 06 Dec 2008 at 10:42am
I'm new to this and am wondering what the best method is to create an arch.  Also, how do you get away with not having to buy an outdoor extension cord for every channel?  I have found that that is one of my biggest expenses at $7 a pop.  Thanks for any help.
Comporder1 View Drop Down
DMX
DMX

Quote Comporder1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2008 at 12:30pm

Hi rmonty,

I made 8 arches this year.... needless to say, I had the method perfected (for me) after finishing all of those!! Richard Holdman made a good video ( http://holdman.com/christmas/projects.asp ) showing how he did it. I used a similar method, except I used a low speed drill. He doesn't really explain how he does the extension cord. What I did was:

1) Start wraping at the female end on one end of the pipe.
2) once wrapped, cut off the plug end of the string.
3) solder on cheap 18 gauge zip (lamp) cord. You can buy this for $40 /250' spool.
4) tape the zip cord to the pipe all the way to the opposite end of the pipe.
5) cut off the zip cord about 3 feet off the end of the pipe
6) solder the plug back on to the end of the zip cord (or you could use attachon plugs "G" - http://www.creativedisplays.com/siteresources/modules/webstore/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=472 )
7) rinse and repeat!!!

You could leave as much (or little) wire past the end of the pipe to reach your controller. I ended up putting my controller about 2' away from the base of the arches and plenty of cord available to reach.