Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Lights to controller?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Buckeyelights View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Buckeyelights Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lights to controller?
    Posted: 31 Oct 2009 at 8:47pm
Newbie advice requested on sending lights to controller.

This is my first attempt at sending lights to a controller and of course, the first try didn’t work. Cry

Tries #2, 3 & 4 didn't do any better.

I am using LOR hardware w/ Aurora software, running Vista. I have 5 LOR CTB16PC controllers, 4 w/ 16 channels & 1 w/ 8 channels for a total of 72 channels.  No DMX or video just lights running.

My guess is I have something incorrectly set-up, either under Channel Properties or how the controllers are hooked up.  Here is what I have done:

Under Channel Properties – Device options:

network segment? All of my networks are set to #1. My thought is that I have one network.

Device ID? This is the # of my controller, correct? So my first controller is #1, second #2 and so on.

Controller hook-up:

Inside the controller there are 3 connection points in a row for the cat 5 cable.  From L >R, 1st one is too small for a cat5 connector, it appears to be the size for a phone connection. That leaves connection points #2 (middle) & #3 (right) for usable connections.

Does the cat5 cable from the laptop to the 1st controller go into the 2nd or 3rd connection point?

Then to connect the 1st controller to the 2nd controller, which connection points should I use?

What is kind of weird is that during a test, I did get the lights on controller 1, channel 1 to light for the first event only, but not again and no other lights came on.