Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Extension cords/ physical light arrangement

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
dylanwalker View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote dylanwalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Extension cords/ physical light arrangement
    Posted: 04 Nov 2009 at 10:08pm
Hi,

sorry if this isn't really the right place to post this question, but I was wondering if anyone has some tips and tricks regarding running extension cords for all of your channels.  I've been doing my lights for about 3 years now and every year I find the most time consuming part to be running the extension cords in a way that they aren't too visible... To save money and to minimize visibility I've been using chains of those cheap brown (probably not rated for outdoors) cords.  I also wouldn't mind any tips on running string lights so that they appear "straight" on things like rooflines.

Again, sorry if this is the wrong place to post, if anyone has a better forum to ask this question, please redirect me.

thanks,

Dylan
wesalbert View Drop Down

Quote wesalbert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Nov 2009 at 10:27pm
As far as getting the lights to look straight.  For around the windows I have built PVC "squairs" and tie strap the lights to it.   Along the roof, I plan on also tie strapping the lights to a PVC pipe and attaching it to the house.
I will post up some pics in a couple weeks.
32 channels
Pony_God View Drop Down

Quote Pony_God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2009 at 7:45am
We bought SPT1 wire and added out oun plugs so that each cable is a custom length.
Lowes has black, at about 100' or so. But this year we bought 1000' SPT1 and vampire plugs from (someplace that I can't think of or find the recipt of right now that was not Creative Lighting)