need a little advice

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
breakbenj View Drop Down
Pre-Order User
Pre-Order User

Online Status: Offline
  Quote breakbenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: need a little advice
    Posted: 02 Jan 2008 at 9:28pm
I'm brand new to this and although I'm enjoying the trial and error with learning the sequences I would really like either a screenshot or step by step instructions on sequencing a mega tree to look like it is spinning. That is probably something all the old school people take for granted and I have been trying to figure it out and getting closer but it would be great if someone took a little pity on the new guy and decided to help me out.
Thanking you in advance,

Big%20smile
Jeff

deweycooter View Drop Down
Development
Development

Quote deweycooter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2008 at 9:54pm
A couple assumptions - your tree is done in vertical slices (the vast majority are) and a channel is from the ground to the top, not ground to the top-up-and-over-and-to-the-ground on the other side.

This is what I do -

First get an idea of how fast you want it to spin - music-wise anyway.  In other words, I tap out the beat in my head as I listen to the music and determine how often the tree should spin (for the perfectionist side of me, I think it should spin in sync to the music, right?). 

Then, put an event line at the beginning of each spin.

Now for a little math.  This one depends on how many slices you have in your tree.  My tree has 7 slices....but it's only a semi circle.  So if I had a full circle, it would be 12 slices - hopefully that makes sense.  I'll make an image if you want, but for simplicity, let's just say I've got 12 slices.

Another assumption - you want opposite slices to be ON as the tree spins (you can see this in my videos at themic.us - but it seems most spinning trees are done in slice pairs).